book banner img

Our Location

Department of Sociology

Kenneth Taylor Hall, 627
1280 Main Street West
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
L8S 4M4

Campus Map & Driving Directions

Contact Information

General Inquiries:

Phone: (905) 525-9140 ext. 24481

Email: sociology@mcmaster.ca

Office Hours

Monday – Thursday:

9:00AM – 12:00PM & 1:00PM – 4:00PM.

Sociology Faculty, Student & Staff Directory

Administrative Contacts

Chair | Professor

Tina Fetner

Kenneth Taylor Hall, 628

Phone: (905) 525-9140 ext. 24480

Email: tina.fetner@mcmaster.ca

Graduate Chair | Associate Professor | Canada Research Chair in Mental Health and Work-Life Transitions

Marisa Young

Kenneth Taylor Hall, 640

Phone: (905) 525-9140 ext. 23621

Email: myoung@mcmaster.ca

Undergraduate Chair | Associate Professor

Jeffrey Denis 

Kenneth Taylor Hall, 629 

Phone: (905) 525-9140 ext. 23615

Email: denisj@mcmaster.ca 

Academic Department Manager

Madeline Van Impe

Phone: (905) 525-9140 ext. 24484

Email: deptsoc@mcmaster.ca

Administrative Assistant, Graduate Program

Corinne Jehle

Kenneth Taylor Hall, 627

Phone: (905) 525-9140 ext. 23613

Email: socgrad@mcmaster.ca



Undergraduate Administrative Assistant

Colleen Colwell

Phone: (905) 525-9140 ext. 24481

Email: sociology@mcmaster.ca

Instructional Assistant

Gerald Bierling

Kenneth Taylor Hall, 642 or L.R. Wilson Hall, 1806

Phone: (905) 525-9140 ext. 26513

Email: bierling@mcmaster.ca


Associated Groups

McMaster decorative arch

McMaster Sociology Student Society (Mac Soc)

The Sociology Society is a social group within the Faculty of Social Science. If you’re interested in learning more about Sociology or just want to make friends with people in the program, check us out on social media! All are welcome on this team, from those interested in executive positions to those keen on being general members! Feel free to email us at sociology@themsss.com.




Learn more about the Sociology Student Society

McMaster decorative arch

McMaster Sociology Society Executive

Eizza Mahmood – President

Megan Brown – Vice President

Sergio Rodrigo – VP of Public Relations

Randi Shuker – VP of Marketing

Megan Au – VP of Finance

Diana Samanou – Events Coordinator

Sumaiya Ferguson – Year Representative (3)

Iqram Patel– Year Representative (2)

Janelle Martires – Year Representative (1)